Outline of the Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom
Below is a brief outline of the Divine Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom, which is the liturgy we use most of the year.
Like any Eucharistic liturgy in the Christian tradition, the core of the Byzantine liturgy can be divided into two main parts: the Liturgy of the Word and the Liturgy of the Eucharist. In addition to this core, we have several short hymns. The whole liturgy is linked together by a series of litanies. What those litanies mean for you is learning one simple response–Lord, have mercy! Hospody, pomyloy!–has you participating in a good 80% of the liturgy. Look at that! You’re already a pro.

1. Introductory Rites
Opening Blessing
Great Litany
Two Psalms, each followed by the Little Litany

2. Liturgy of the Catechumens (AKA Liturgy of the Word)
Little Entrance
New Testament Reading
Gospel Reading & Sermon
Three Litanies

3. Liturgy of the The Faithful (AKA Liturgy of the Eucharist)
The Great Entrance
Offertory Litany
The Symbol of Faith (the Niceno-Constantinopolitan Creed)
The Eucharistic Prayer (usually said silently by the Priest)
The Litany of Supplication
The Lord’s Prayer
Holy Communion

4. Concluding Prayers
Communion Hymns
Prayer before the Ambo
Final Blessing
Distribution of the Blessed Bread